Anonymous
map-marker Columbus, Ohio

To inform others about Levin Furniture 's HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

!C initially purchased a bed and chest for my son's bedroom in Nov, 2023 and the bed was missing parts. The Levin store in Avon, Ohio where I purchased it from went out of their way to make things right, so it was only natural that I would plan on making all my future purchases from that store.

In Feb. 2024 I went back to the Avon store to purchase another bed, chest and book case. The bed and chest were out of stock, and it was going to take a few weeks until they were back in, the book case was a special order, therefore I was given an estimated delivery date between 60-90 days per my sales person (Brian). When my chest and bed were back in stock about two months later I had them delivered, that's when the issues began.

The delivery was scheduled, and I took off work in order for the chest and bed delivered. When I do contract work I don't get paid unless I work, therefore I only take off work if it's important. On the first delivery attempt, the delivery team opened the back of the truck and to my surprise, my furniture had been taken out of the box already by someone at the warehouse. The bed was missing the rails which the mattress rests on, and the chest had several scratches on it, so I sent the chest back with the delivery team.

I then immediately contacted the Avon store, and they had someone deliver a set of rails to my house within the hour. I then waited two weeks until another delivery was made. On the second delivery, the truck arrived 1 hour late without contacting me, additionally the delivery guys wore shoes in my house and tracked mud all over the place. Moreover, the delivery team leaned furniture against my freshly painted walls, which were still drying.

The chest the guys delivered was damaged, there were scratches all over the front of the chest due to it being taken out of the box prior to delivery. I called my sale person, Brian, and he stated he would take care of it, which he did. The third delivery went well, the chest was delivered in a box and not damaged, I just had to wait for the book case. Unfortunately, I had taken off work 3 times in order to get my get the delivery right.

I spoke to Brian about my financial losses from taking off work. Brian ASSURED me that he would take care of me after my order was complete! In late March, I called Brain to get an updated delivery date for the book case. He informed me that the delivery had been changed and the delivery date was now late May or June.

In late April, I contacted Brian to see about a refund for the delivery due to me missing three days of work. Brian then informed me that the book case had been discontinued, and he would issue me a refund. As far as taking care of me for the loss of three days of work, he referred me to Levin Customer Service. I called the phone number for Customer Service that Brian provide me with and spoke to a Customer Service Rep.

She was not helpful at all, so I requested to speak to a manager. The manager's resolution was to give me a $150 Levin gift card. I advised her that I was so upset about loosing money from not working 3 days that I just wanted a refund for the delivery, she told me that she couldn't do that. I informed her that I was not interested in the gift car, and I was now planning on shopping somewhere else.

Her response was, "why should I help you if you're going somewhere else"! After going back and forth she eventually agreed to provide me with a $100 credit to my credit card.

After this last experience with the Customer Service Department and by being LIED to by being told "we will take care of you"! I will finish re furnishing the rest of my house somewhere else.

View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Price switching

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Levin Furniture - Price switching

Went into the Pleasant Hills store to look at modular furniture. Found a sofa that we liked and were given a price of $1383.

Told the sales rep will take it and to write it up. 15 minutes later he came Back with an Invoice for $1853! Our entire family was there and heard the initial price which made us buy it. He said sorry I guess it made a mistake.

You dont tell people a price and then come back and switch it later! Called the store manager the next day and there was complete Apathy. Manager said people make mistakes and he doesnt have the power to grant the original price. I understand people make mistakes, but not when youre making a large purchase like this.

We have been Levins customers for the last 45 years. Guess where we will never shop again!

View full review

User's recommendation: Shop anywhere, but here!

David S Bvd

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Mccandless, Pennsylvania

Don’t Stand By Their Products

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Levin Furniture - Don’t Stand By Their Products
Levin Furniture - Don’t Stand By Their Products - Image 2
Updated by user Dec 30, 2023

**update 12.30.23**The fine folks at Levin let me know that they will not reimburse me the $100 the tech they recommended cost because they were going to fix the couch as “a one time courtesy” but since they already “helped” me (by spending my money), that’s there’s nothing they “can” (re: WILL) do. Keep in mind the calls to help repair the couch didn’t come until about three weeks after the initial call to Levin.

Original review Nov 30, 2023
Do not buy from Levin Furniture and Mattress. Purchased couch and love seat in June of 2022. About a year later the fabric is tearing and stuffing is falling out of the hole. Manufactures warranty is expired, Levins extended warranty doesnt cover it and Levin wont do a thing about it. I guess its common for their products to fail after just a year.
View full review
Loss:
$100
Pros:
  • Location
Cons:
  • Durability

Preferred solution: A repair to the faulty couch.

Stevon Gdo
map-marker Waterford, Pennsylvania

Credit card issues with synchrony bank

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Don't let Levin hook you in to getting a synchrony credit cardin bought over 7000LOLLOLLOLin furniture now I'm getting charged a late fee when I have paid months in advance. $41 dollars when I'm paid through 2027.dintd
View full review
Resolved
TK K Iio

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh

Resolved: Terrible customer care

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Jan 06, 2024

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology. They responded to my multiple bad reviews on line and agreed to replace my table

Original review Dec 22, 2023
Stay away!! Once they have your money, youre on your own! After spending $19000 on furniture to fill my new house 18 months ago, Levin was completely unwilling to assist with a $3500 Bernhardt dining room table that the finish is lifting off of the substrate. I understand policy and procedure, but after being in business for 42 years, I also understand the value of going above and beyond to keep a valuable customer satisfied. We will NEVER spend another dime there, and suggest you dont either. If I could give zero stars, I would. TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! Tim Kilkeary
View full review
Pros:
  • Location
Cons:
  • Terrible customer care and service after the sale

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY!

Kent M Qaz

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Delivery Damaged furniture and they want me to pay for it.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Great, right up until they get your money. Ordered a sectional and thoroughly measured for delivery. I confirmed my findings with the store before order was finalized. Moved a sofa out 3" larger than the one ordered. Smug delivery person refused to even attempt to deliver. Argued with my wife about trivial issues. Drug couch across a concrete driveway and damaged it. That was 7 days ago. No one will return a call, no one will help in any way. Take your money elsewhere!
View full review
Loss:
$1319
Cons:
  • No customer service

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Stay Away

Kennard Vqy

You will never get a discount

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
When you buy something at a percentage off or get free stuff. It's already paid for by you cause they raise their prices that much so you actually buy everything and you thought you got a deal
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania

I belive I was ripped off!!!

I can't believe they are still in business. They scratched my door bringing their garbage BAIT AND SWITCH couch in. The couch is not NEAR as comfortable as the one we sat in, in their store. I will NEVER buy anything from them again!!! WARNING: STAY AWAY FROM LEVIN FURNITURE!!!
View full review

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY FROM LEVIN FURNITURE!!!

Resolved
Julius C Xxg

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
|

This person supports our platform.
Get a badge ›

Supporter
| map-marker Oakwood, Ohio

Resolved: Holdup of delivery after taking money

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Sep 25, 2023

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology. I cancelled the order and then after 20 days they sent my refund check.

Original review Aug 24, 2023
I bought a bedroom suite on Sunday, and paid over $8,000 for everything. The check cleared 2 days ago, went thru ACH, my financial institution confirmed, and yet Levin is holding delivery for 10 days, because 'the check was from out of state'.
Now I would understand if the check hadn't cleared, but Levin has their money, so what justification is there for holding up the delivery?
I just talked to a Tammy, who stated that they have to keep with the policy of a 10 day waiting period.

Again, WHY? They have the money.
That is ridiculous! I cannot recommend Levin Furniture at all.

That is a pretty shady operation... to take someone's money, and then not delivery the merchandise in a timely manner.
View full review

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: Dont buy from Levin Furniture

5 comments
Guest

And when we purchased the items, the sales associate told us that the 10 day policy wouldn't apply to us, since their check approval system cleared it. It was only yesterday that we were told that even though the check cleared they would still go by the 10 day policy...

Why?

That 10 day policy should be to make sure a check clears. Not hold up delivery after the check clears.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2379756

So if their system cleared the check at time of purchase why didn’t you have a delivery date at time of purchase?

Guest

The delivery can happen ten days after purchase with a check. That is their policy.

Yes, the check can clear sooner but no one is going to micromanage to see when your check clears. If you didn’t like it at time of purchase you should have went elsewhere.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2379523

That is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard... I'm assuming you work for the company.

That is a ridiculous policy when the money is in their account... Idiot!

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2379645

Don’t work for them. Like it or not it is their policy.

View more comments (4)
Nichole C Clq
map-marker Bellefonte, Pennsylvania

To warn people not to use levin’s for the furniture store

Back in October my husband and I bought a sectional from your levin store in State College. We had this sectional delivered to our home we purchased and left wrapped and placed in our garage while walls and flooring were being put in our home.

Now I believe almost all people would do this while their home is being worked on. Well as our downstairs is finally finished my husband and I went to open the furniture this past week to find the sectional have all the springs inside completely broken and the sectional to be completely damaged inside. So we called the store and they told us they would send someone out to maintenance the furniture or replace it all together in a day or two.

After four days and no one showing up my husband called to ask when they would be out and got told to pretty much eat *** and no one was coming out because we didnt open the furniture as soon as we got it. Now we are stuck without any furniture sitting on our living room floor.

View full review

User's recommendation: Go else where

Joy W Xzi

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Stow, Ohio

Unfair return policy

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Levin Furniture - Unfair return policy
Original review Jul 26, 2023

I bought a very expensive mattress from Levin Furniture in Stow, Ohio in May.

The floor model seemed comfortable, but the one they delivered to me is so soft that when I lay down, I sink down to laying on a hard surface.

I often wake up with aching arms, hips or legs.

Most mattress companies give you a hundred day return policy, but not Levin!!!

I was informed by customer service that if I had bought the expensive mattress protector and pillow with it, I would have been given 120 nights of sleep to return or exchange the mattress.

The salesman made no mention of this when I bought the mattress. He just asked me if I wanted the warranty.

Now I am stuck paying off an expensive mattress that is uncomfortable for me. I just retired and can't afford to buy a new one.

This is totally unacceptable and heartless.

I just retired and cannot afford to buy another mattress.

I will never buy another mattress from Levin and I suggest that you don't either

View full review
Loss:
$1925
Pros:
  • Multiple locations
Cons:
  • Deceptive sales transaction
  • Poor return policy for mattresses

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do not buy your mattress from Levin!!

1 comment
Guest

They told me straight to my face that they have a 100 day RETURN POLICY… now they’re lying trying to get out of it.

Anonymous
map-marker Cleveland, Ohio

Poor customer service

I want to start by saying I am a loyal customer of Levin. This last purchase was not satisfactory.

The salesperson insisted we purchase immediately, stating supply chain issues, which I felt was misleading. I wanted to wait until all the accessories were in. He stated 2 weeks, which turning into 7 weeks. I had to call and come to the store to try and resolve the issue.

Each time with a promise for a follow-up call which never came. I happened to be in the area and stopped by, the sales person stated I thought about you today, but he did not call me. He went to the back and the sheets and mattress protector was in. I accepted the items only to discover when I got them home.

The sheets are the wrong color.

I would like the sheets replaced with the correct color at no charge. Thank you and I look forward to your response.

Mary

View full review
Rayola Ghd

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Avon, Ohio

Return policy

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Purchase Furniture in June didn't receive it till August would I received was not the same stuff I sat on at the store the quality was crap so after 3 days I changed my mind and wanted it returned in the meantime I had to pay $284 because I'm paying my interest in full. They gave me a separate charge. Then after getting receiving the refund they also charged me delivery fee for picking it up taxed on it so all in all I end up paying $678 all together and I have nothing. What a rip off they have crap furniture and you wait forever for it.
View full review
Loss:
$678
Cons:
  • Crap furniture
Anonymous
map-marker Columbus, Ohio

Poor customer service

First let me say most of the rooms in my home are furnished with Levin furniture. This last purchase was I felt pressured to purchase.

I wanted to wait because the sheets and mattress cover were not t available. The sale person stated they would be in on 091523 they did not come in until 101823 after 2 visits and multiple phone calls with promise of call backs that never came. My final visit the items just so happen to be in. Then the sheets are the wrong color.

When I stated I was thinking about returning the mattress, he flatly stated I could not which was opposite of what we discussed at the time of purchase. I am upset please make this right.

Thank you for listening. I am looking forward to a response.

View full review
Pam J Qzg
map-marker North Ridgeville, Ohio

Disappointed in how our issue was handled.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Been a customer of Levins for thirty years. Almost all our furniture in our home was/is purchased from Levins.

Referring many buyers your way too. My husband and I purchased our queen Stearns and Foster bed on June 12 from the Avon, Ohio site. My husband chose the free Tempur Pro Mid pillow. The pillow is hurting his neck and shoulders after two nights.

I understand we can not return pillow. I spoke with our sales person, Sandy Nagy about getting a low profile pillow. She said she spoke with the manager and the manager was willing to knock off $25 from buying a new pillow. We were told that these pillows run $150 a piece.

A bit over priced in my opinion. After spending $2500, the response from the manager was extremely disappointing.

I thought more of your company. My loyalty is wilting.

View full review
Elaine Y Yys
map-marker Pleasant Hills, Pennsylvania

Couch fusions are horrible

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Cushions cannot be flipped over due to no material on the back,, and it wears too quickly!!! Of course protection plan doesnt cover wear thats excessive,, very disappointed
View full review
Pros:
  • Close to home
Cons:
  • Cheap furniture

Preferred solution: Wanted new cushions, but was told not covered, plus probably would not match

User's recommendation: Look for better material wear, and material coverage on the whole cushions

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article